Cooking A-Z :: B is for Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

My first time browning butter was a pretty amazing experience. I managed to brown it without burning it and my oh my, the smell was heavenly. I typically don’t like the smell of butter, but browned butter, well, that’s a whole ‘nother story.

My birthday passed recently, and of course, I made my own birthday cake! I’ll be making a post on that very soon. (psst! it’s an oreo cake)

These really are some AWESOME cookies, so I highly recommend trying these out. The browned butter adds a dimension to the cookies that you can’t get with any other ingredient.

Image

photo courtesy of bellalimento.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter
  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips
  • fleur de sel to garnish – optional

Directions:

  1. Into a heavy bottom sauce pan melt butter over medium heat. Continue cooking until butter turns brown. Stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Set aside to cool.
  2. Into a large bowl: mix: flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  3. Into your stand mixer add: butter and sugar. Mix until combined. Add eggs, vanilla and continue mixing.
  4. Gradually add flour mixture and mix until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips.
  5. Transfer dough to refrigerator to set for minimum of 30 minutes.
  6. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Using a small cookie scoop, scoop dough balls onto a rimmed baking sheet lined with silicon, parchment or spray with non-stick spray. Leaving space between each for spreading.
  7. Bake for approximately 11 minutes. Allow cookies to cool on pan for a minute and then transfer to a wire rack. Garnish with fleur de sel if desired.

Original Recipe

Leave a comment